To worry not, is quite a task

Throughout the years I have always been a worry wart – overthinking every little thing, always thinking something is wrong when it isn’t, making small things into bigger things.

These days I try to keep worrying to a minimum as I know it doesn’t do me any good. But I guess that’s easier said than done. Some issues are so easy to put out of the mind, but then sometimes they come back and bother us again. I often question why I worry about certain issues when they don’t even matter or issues that I have no control over. I get myself into what my best friend calls an ‘anxiety spiral’ where I let the worry bother me so much it takes over me. I wish I did care less about certain things, but sometimes it’s so hard to let stuff go.

I guess the moral of this story is to not worry about anything you can’t change, don’t dwell on the past, and just concentrate on the now. We can all choose whether or not to worry about something. And if we look at the bigger picture and ask ourselves whether this will matter in 5 or 10 years time, then we should be convinced that worrying is unecessary!

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

2 responses to “To worry not, is quite a task

  1. I totally know what you mean. I’m a pretty big worry wart too, and often what makes things difficult is the fact that I just can’t seem to stop worrying. It’s become such a big part of my life that sometimes I just block it out until someone says, “Hey. Chill out. There’s nothing to worry about.” I strive to keep my worrying to a minimum, but it’s just so dang hard.

    • I’m relieved I’m not alone in this one Amelia! Do you often find it’s the little things and the issues that are just so ridiculous that make you worry the most? And then there are those issues that we tend to make assumptions about when more often than not, we are completely wrong about them! As they say, the things we worry about tend to never happen. It’s so bizarre that we let our minds go crazy over issues that don’t matter. I hope you’re not worried about too much these days but if you want to chat, feel free to email me: k_mae@live.com if there is anything specific you want to talk about. I’ll be happy to listen and help out! We’re in this together 🙂 everything is always OK in the end x

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

