A power sentence for each year of my life

1990  – I was born to the most amazing parents in the world, I would not be here today if it wasn’t for them!

1991 – My sister Sarah was born and despite all the fights we had as children, she has become my very best friend in the entire world.

1992 – I went on my first trip to the Philippines. I don’t remember it obviously but it’s amazing enough that I had gone overseas at such a young, tender age.

1993 -I really do not remember any big events that happened this year so I won’t be able to recall any.

1994 – I received my very first bike with training wheels from my brother. I loved riding around on that thing!

1995 – I was a flower girl with my sister for my auntie’s wedding in the Philippines. What an amazing experience that was and I felt honoured playing such an important part on her special day.

1996  – My first year of primary school. This was a very scary milestone in my life since I was so used to being around my mum all the time. I cried so much when she took me to school. I did not want to let her go! I also remember crying in class and my teacher was so good about it.

1997 -I celebrated my 7th birthday at McDonald’s which is where they used to run parties for children with games, cake and the like. It was such a huge and popular thing to do at my age back then. All children got psyched about it.

1998 – I moved from Thomas Chirnside Primary School to St. Andrew’s Catholic School. That’s where I met one of my first best friends who, sadly I have lost touch with and don’t see anymore.

1999 – I memorised a speech for the very first time that I presented in front of my class. That’s all thanks to my dad who taught me a lot.  Memorising that speech increased my public speaking skills and confidence that became extremely useful in my later school years.

2000 – I had my first family trip to the UK and America.  I missed a good three months of school because of it! But it was a great trip from what I remember.

2001 – The year of 9/11 and although this did not affect me personally, I do remember going to school that morning and seeing it all over the news. Such an extreme event to be exposed to at the age of 11.

2002 -I became one of the sports captains for my team ‘Padua’. This was a very proud moment for me as it taught me how to be a good leader.

2003 – I began secondary school at Mackillop Catholic Regional College and I missed my first two weeks because of being in the Philippines and I was nervous as it was. Everyone else in my class had settled in for that time! But Year 7 was not as hard as I made it out to be at all. It was almost like my last year of primary school!

2004 – Me and my family moved from our old address we had lived in for 9 years to a new double storey house not too far away. I still miss my old house though! It had the biggest garden.

2005 – I started my very first part time job in retail at a department store. I was there for 5 years.

2006 – I went to Japan for two weeks for a school trip. It is such an amazing country and I would love to go again. My favourite sights were Tokyo and the Hiroshima Bomb Dome site. I met the most amazing people there and the host family I stayed with treated me as their own.

2007 – My father passed away – I lost my best friend that year. He was my mentor and still is my hero and admiration. That was a very difficult time for me and to this day I still find it hard that he’s not around… We were very close and it was painful to lose someone so close to me at the age of 16. I do appreciate I was old enough to get to know him though.

2008 – I turned 18 and had the best party ever to celebrate it. Surprisingly enough, I did not have one drink that night. I was never into drinking until I turned 19. This is all feels like so long ago now.

2009 – I entered my first year of University and studied the Bachelor of Arts. I am very grateful for uni as I have made many lifelong friends from there.

2010 – I broke up with my first serious boyfriend of three years. I met him when I was 16 and experienced what it was like to be in love. I was very naive then. I thought I would be with him for life so this was a pretty hard year for me, one in which I really lost myself and had no direction in life.

2011 – I decided to make a change and let go of my past by going to the US in September and the UK in November, where I am still living now and plan to for a year. It was the best decision I ever made. I have learned so much and grown so much as a person. This is has been one of the most amazing experiences of my life!

2012 – It is still quite early into the year but I currently enjoy being in the UK and working at a local club where I have met some really awesome people. This year is the year to be all things different, and travel anywhere I possibly can! I love my life 🙂

I hope you enjoyed reading through the journey of my life so far. I can’t believe how fast time has flown over the years!

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

6 responses to “A power sentence for each year of my life

  1. Wow,what a cool way to document and celebrate your life! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Wow, it’s wonderful to record yr life in this way. And I know more abt you now! 🙂
    hope you hv a great n sweet journey, but hv u finished yr university?
    God bless. xoxo

    • Thanks so much Vic. I had no idea you had a wordpress.com account! I haven’t finished university. I did two courses I didn’t like and I am returning to uni next year to do primary school teaching. That’s where my passion has always been xoxo

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

