A bump in the road

I missed out on my daily blog for yesterday which I am a little disappointed about however, I am not going to make a habit of it.

Yesterday and part of today were tough. I woke up late as usual on a Sunday since I work late every Saturday night and even though I try all efforts in waking up by at least eleven or twelve, I always manage to sleep in until 2:30pm to make sure I have completely recovered from such a busy shift.

I have been feeling homesick over the past week but yesterday it really seemed to hit hard. There are certain triggers that start it off such as not being able to drive knowing I can drive, not catching up with work friends enough, seeing my cousins together as sisters knowing I can’t be with my own (as beautiful as it is to see my cousin’s together) to name a few.

I had isolated myself in my room until lunchtime today and I had not eaten for 30 hours. I felt so hungry at first, but then I felt OK. My body was used to it. I guess I just wanted to be on my own and only speak with my loved ones back home. It was nothing against my family here but I wasn’t ready to face up to them yet about anything going on. They were all extremely worried and tried to get me to come out for food but to no avail.

I did get to speak to my best friend Louise over skype and we both got pretty emotional, but it was good to hear her voice. It was comforting. She reminded me that even though we are so far apart and really wish we were with each other, she knows that I had to take this trip and experience it for what it is.

When I finally let my family in this morning, I had a good chat with my auntie and we sorted everything out. I felt so bad for worrying them but I just wanted to get passed what I was feeling. My auntie felt like she had done something wrong but I reassured her that it wasn’t anything to do with her at all.

I also got to speak to my beautiful sister on skype and that also helped my day get off to a bright start 🙂

It was also good to get some food into me and have a nice hot shower.

My cousins were so pleased I was feeling more myself. Now I write this with no intention of attention seeking or pity because I never like to portray that idea despite my down days. I have always believed in being honest through this blog and this is my only goal here. I express only the truth. And I tell it like it is.

I am feeling much better apart from the fact I may have given myself a sore throat from having no food or drink yesterday but that’s my own fault.

Homesickness is completely normal and I know I was bound to feel this way at some point. Once I get a day job and do more social things, I will start to feel homesick less and less.

I have been invited out clubbing on Friday, I have my work Christmas Party next Friday and I will be going to London for a weekend next month and will be staying with my cousin so a lot will be happening!

England I won’t give up on you!

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

One response to “A bump in the road

  1. Homesickness is a terrible emotion, Kathy. I hope it eases up soon. It sounds as though you have a wonderful, caring family. (Which, I know, in some ways makes the homesickness even worse.)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

