Like me crazy

There are millions of fanatics when it comes to Facebook. I was convinced to create a Facebook account in my senior secondary school years and back then I had no idea how it worked! It wasn’t as popular as it is now and I’m sure it has had many more users since then.

I must admit, Facebook is pretty addictive and it is one of the very few reasons that I am up so late at night, as pathetic as that is to say. It is such an obsession at times! But the thing is, I know I can live without it. I have deactivated my account a few times before and found that I had more time to focus on more important things and I got so used to being without it that I forgot it existed. The last time I deactivated my account was last August and I only got it back because I’m away travelling so I need my friends and family to know what’s going and on and keep them updated on my journey overseas.

I personally think that Facebook’s whole idea has been abused extremely. People use it as an attention seeking tool, it’s used to bully others, display foul images and there is this whole idea that everyone has to update their status on every thing that they do, even things that are so unnecessary so that people are updated at every moment of what’s going on. Facebook is that common to people that if someone doesn’t have an account, it’s as if you’re looked down upon and it’s not normal to be without it.

People have this idea that they need all these likes and comments on everything they post and are committed to making sure they don’t miss a thing on Facebook. I have been there.

What irritates me is that people can post some really disturbing and unnecessary information on Facebook, information that I wouldn’t want people knowing if it was about myself. It baffles me at times. And it has got to the point that I have even hidden notifications of news feed’s of people that I just don’t want to read about because it’s the same thing all the time.

Another thing is Facebook friends. Last year I deleted about half of my list from over 600 and I’m now down to 300 or so because I didn’t even know most of the people I had in that list and when I thought about it, I didn’t want complete randoms knowing my personal information. Don’t get me wrong, out of the three hundred or so people I have in my friends list, I don’t know every single one of them personally and I think it would be almost impossible to have a friends list in the hundred’s where you know every single one of that one hundred really well. Just saying. Some people have this constant desire to have as many friends as possible to have a bigger friends list.

Apart from that, Facebook can create so much drama and a lot of things are exaggerated when posted up on there. I honestly get sick of reading some things on Facebook that are completely lame and not helpful to anyone. Each to their own I suppose, but I think Facebook is liked a little bit too much.

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

2 responses to “Like me crazy

  1. BrittaXOX

    I am so close to deleting my Facebook. The only reason I haven’t is because of my blog and the fact Its a way for me to speak with people who I otherwise wouldn’t be able to. Totally agreeing with your post.

  2. Kathleen Sleigh

    Thank you so much for your opinion beautiful Britta. I totally agree with you. I forgot to add that it’s the only way to communicate with those who I have no other means of communicating with. You made a valid point there 🙂 thanks for this!

    xxx

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

