Like a zombie

For the past three weeks to a month I have been going to bed extremely late, and I’m talking about 2am, 3am late. It’s absolutely insane! And for some odd reason I can’t control myself to do otherwise.

Ever since I was in secondary school, especially in year 12, I was always going to bed really late at night and the main culprit to that was Facebook and the fact that that I felt that being in bed by 10 or 11pm was too early for me. Anytime after 12am seems to feel like a decent hour to go to bed each night but then I pay for the consequences later that day by feeling unfresh and tired.

I know it definitely has something to do with the fact that I have easy access to Facebook via my mobile phone and there somehow always is someone to talk to or comment on into early hours of the morning. It is also the best time to contact my family back home because of the time difference between here and Australia. And every night I’m always watching the TV until about midnight with my cousin and I never go straight to bed after that. I’m either once again on facebook, listening to music or reading my book. But it’s mainly the former. Facebook seems to be the main reason I am up so late. It can be a really bad obsession. And the thing is, I can live without facebook because I have deactivated it a few times before and I don’t have this constant desire to know what everyone is up to all the time. In the past, I have logged out of it completely and turned my phone off so I don’t have that distraction and can get a better night’s sleep but I’ve always bent that rule I’ve set for myself.

Each night I keep telling myself it will be different and that I will be going to bed by at least 11pm, 12 at the very latest. But it never seems to happen. I know it’s not good for my health and my skin and I don’t like the feeling of getting up half way through the day and feeling unrefreshed. It’s my own fault though. I really need to stop this bad habit from continuing any longer.

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

