The power of acceptance

One of the hardest things to do in Iife is to accept. Especially when it comes to things we don’t like to accept. I had trouble with acceptance for a year and a half but I have really learned it’s power and how it has changed my life.

I have brought this up many times in previous blogs and I can relate to this issue again. After my break up, when I wasn’t feeling positive about anything, I could never seem to convince myself that things happen for a reason and that not everything is meant to be. I kept focusing on how I wanted everything to be the way it used to be and to be happy again being in the same position with my ex partner. But what I didn’t realise until late last year was that I had to accept that the relationship was over and there was no way to fix it anymore to go back to the way things used to be. I also realised I deserved so much better than how I was treated after the break up. That has definitely helped me a lot in the healing process. Accepting that I needed to begin a new life on my own doing different things was really hard because I couldn’t imagine living life differently to how I had been the past 3 years. That life was a huge part of me and I couldn’t let it go for a long time but once I accepted that things were going to be okay and that I would be happy again, it honestly felt like a massive load off my shoulders. All this weight that had been dragging me down had completely disappeared and I felt so grounded. It is such an amazing feel to wake up to everyday.

I also discovered quite recently that acceptance helped me in another situation. Over the weekend I had a tough time because of the lead up to the new year and I had been missing my family, friends and home a lot so I was feeling sad and stressed out about being away from them and I also felt stressed out at work, not being with family and feeling so exhausted behind the bar and feeling out of place because of not knowing my work friends well. I had a good cry over it and let everything out, and it felt good after that but those moments I felt so down reminded me of the person I was when I was around my ex and for some odd reason I kept thinking I was feeling that way because I always did when he was in my life. I was so used to feeling sad and not myself around him that it felt so normal to be reminded of him when I did feel sad and stressed out. Because whenever I was sad and stressed, it was because of him. But what I reminded myself is that it is okay to feel stressed and sad at times and my ex was not the reason I do get upset that way I have felt in the past. I accept that not everyday can be perfect and if I didn’t feel sad or a little bit stressed then I wouldn’t be human. Once you accept that things have to be a certain way, you are on the road to feeling so empowered and so liberated. Acceptance has helped me and still helps me a whole lot and it was so hard for me to get to this point but anything is possible and I know I will always succeed with this life tool.

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

