Be who you are, and do it on purpose

This blog is inspired by one of my good friends Christopher Stefano. Since receiving the a’okay from him to write about a recent incident he went through, I have decided to share it with you all. Chris is gay and his mum’s friend is a homophobe and she had recently put him down and cursed at him for his sexuality saying things like ‘it is all an act and that he tries to be gay, dresses like a freak and will never succeed in life’. Chris being someone I really care about, knowing that this happened has hurt and angered me that people can say such a thing. What I am most proud of about Chris in this situation is that he never backed down on who he is and he wasn’t afraid to make that clear to her. He stays true to himself and doesn’t care what people think of him. And that makes him such a strong, happy and true person. And I love him for that. I am not a judgemental person myself and I have absolutely nothing against gays and lesbians. I accept people for who they are no matter what their sexuality. I just can’t seem to understand why others have to be so rude against it. His situation really stresses the importance of being who you are and staying true to that no matter what anyone else thinks. It also shows that some people are extremely judgemental and ignorant and that they are the ones who truly aren’t happy in their own lives. They’re either lacking something, are jealous, don’t really feel good about themselves and are insecure. And I think that’s the most important thing to realise too because you shouldn’t let people bring you down when you know who you are and you’re proud of it. Chris’s situation reminds me of quite a few people who have put me down, just because they have nothing better to do. Namely, my ex. Similarly, as what I have stated in my ‘Just laugh it off’ and ‘Ignorance is bliss’ blogs I think it is so important to just laugh at those who bring you down, ignore them and keep them out of your life! Because in the end, they are the ones who need a reality check in their own lives! And if they were truly happy, they wouldn’t be saying negative things about you or towards you to bring you down. That is such an important lesson I have learned; is to just be myself, not be afraid of that and be proud of who I am and always stay true to that. If people aren’t happy with who I am and don’t accept me for me then it’s their loss. And I don’t care because if you can’t take me as I am then really, you’re just not a genuine person and I don’t need that in my life. NO ONE does. Get rid of negative, judgmental, ignorant people because they are just toxic and will ruin your life if you let them in. Say NO, be true to who you are, never be afraid of it and live your life as happily as you can. Surround yourself with good, positive people and I am more than certain you are going to succeed in life.

All the best!
– Kathy
xxx

20111214-143755.jpg
This is my amazing friend Chris, isn’t he gorgeous!

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

