A day in the life of my UK family

I’m at a very big advantage having family to stay with in the UK. I’m lucky that I had a British father who still has relatives living in England. It makes accommodation a lot easier and stress free, and it’s a good excuse to travel and spend time with my family here.

I was going to add in their last name into my blog title, but I decided against it for privacy reasons.

I’m staying with my cousin, his wife and their two young children who I absolutely adore. They’re both girls and they love my company just like I love theirs. It’s great to be around people you can trust and just have a good laugh with and spend time with them in general. That’s why I feel so at home here because I have family to be around so I don’t feel so alone. It has definitely helped with being home sick during the first couple of days since my arrival. Having young children around also keeps my energy up and I find I become so exhausted after playing with them. So it’s been good to keep busy and just hang out with them. My cousin and I also talk a lot about life and the world and his wife and are like sisters, going out for breakfast, coffee and shopping of course! So it’s almost like I haven’t left home!

The time with my family I treasure the most is eating at the table together. I have not done that with my immediate family in Australia since my dad died and because mum started working full time after his passing where she works in the evening and so my sister and I are left to fend for ourselves so we basically eat at any time we want and wherever we want. My dad was the main reason we all got together as a family because we all had more spare time. I’ve forgotten what it’s like to eat as a family because it’s been a while but it’s nice to get a feel of that again. It makes me realise how much I miss it when my dad was around. It’s just a great way to be together and talk and laugh with each other. It’s my favourite time of the day with them and I always get so excited about it each time I am leaving from work of an evening.

I believe it’s so important to spend time with your family as much as you can because they are so special and are a major part of your life. I have been a little sad my family and I back home don’t get as much time together as we’d like. So we make the most of the time we’re at home together. It is good to have our own space though, now that my sister and I are older, but family time is always special.

They always make you feel better when you have a bad day at work or if anything else gets you down.

I’m so happy I’m staying with my family here in the UK. We are all very close and I am grateful I get to spend the next year with them. We have a lot of plans ahead and I look forward to spending more time together and creating even stronger bonds than what we have now.

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

