Hero of all time

My best friend in the whole world passed away almost 5 years ago now. And that person was my dad. Every day I miss him and wish he was here in my life physically. I know he is here in spirit and watching over me but it isn’t the same. I know he is in a better place now though, not suffering anymore.

I was 16 when he died. To this day I still think it is quite a young age to lose a father. But, I’m thankful that I was at an age that I knew him, grew up with him and made memories with him that I won’t ever forget.

We did everything together. I loved doing DIY work at home with him the most. And I loved how he always joked around and made me laugh. And what I love about him the most is that if I was ever upset about anything, his voice was the only voice I needed to hear to let me know everything was going to be okay. He was one of the most gentle, calmest people I have ever known.

Sometimes I can openly talk about his passing like I am now but other times it is awkward and hard. What inspired me to write this blog was the film ‘Breaking Dawn’. The scene where Bella gets married and her dad gives her away made me think about the fact that my dad won’t be there to give me away on my wedding day. Bella and her dad are also close which took me back to my relationship with my own father. I really miss him. I don’t think I’ll ever get over it even though I have moved on in my life. He will never be forgotten and he still is apart of my life even though he’s gone.

I’m so proud I have had the strength to get through such a tragic time in my life but it has made me such a strong person and makes me realise that I can conquer anything.

I will always miss my dad but his legacy will always live on and he is an inspiration to me to keep living life happily, the way he would want for me. I’m sure he is looking down on me giving me a big smile 🙂 He is the reason I live everyday. I live and breathe for him because I know he would want me to be happy.

Forever in my heart and mind.

Michael Joseph Crofton Sleigh,
I love you forever and always.

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

3 responses to “Hero of all time

  1. Love never dies although people do. So beautiful to see your love living on and growing strong.
    Good luck and perfect love to you in your life

  2. amieekid

    So beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

