Love when you’re ready, not when you’re lonely

Whether you’ve been through a break up or not, some of us feel we need to rush into finding love. It could be because we feel we’re behind from our friends who are in long term relationships or because we feel we won’t ever find anyone so we decide to settle for less; someone who isn’t right for us and won’t make us ideally happy. And in the long run, you won’t be in a genuine relationship with that person.

Soon after my ex boyfriend and I broke up I felt I had to move on to someone else straight away and start a relationship with them to make the pain go away and forget my ex. Well through seeing different people and growing attached to them, only for those relationships to shatter and never become anything more, I learned that that’s not the best move because I find soon after a break up, issues between you and your ex are still fresh and therefore you’re not emotionally ready to commit yourself to someone else. You’d constantly be comparing your new partner with your ex and that’s not fair on you or them and it would result in an unhappy relationship, more hurt and potentially, another break up.

I myself have good friends who are in serious relationships and I always felt I had to catch up to them because it seemed that they have their lives on track and are set to go. What I didn’t realise until recently is that you don’t need a partner for you to say your life is set. You don’t need to be like anyone else who is a couple either long term, engaged or soon to married. Life is not defined by one person. Well I don’t think so anyway. There is plenty of time
to settle down and be with someone but first it’s important to make room
for you and enjoy your life on your own, to do all the things you wouldn’t normally do or can’t do if you have a partner. There is no need to rush. I’m young, I’m 21, and a lot of you people out there are young too. Be happy you’re at an age you can still enjoy your life and do so much for YOU. I used to absolutely hate being single but I’ve become so used to it over the past few months and I absolutely love it! I don’t have to answer to anyone, nor do I need to stop myself from doing or not doing something because of someone else. I don’t have to worry about fights or any other dramas with someone else. It’s a great life! The thought of being with my one true guy is a nice thought but one that will exist in the near future. I will settle down when I’m ready. But for right now, I’m going to enjoy my life. And you should too. So don’t be sad you’re not with anyone and don’t be desperate and just jump at someone who crosses your path just because you need someone to make up for your loneliness. That’s not the way to true love. After all, it’s better to wait and have something that’s real and true, than to rush and settle for second best.

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

