Experience, adventure and a big world ahead

I left my homeland of Australia on November 20 for a cold and wintry England. There was a bit of a stuff up at the airport. I went through passport control at about 9:30pm,
going through the scanning procedures and reaching immigration which took a good 10 to 15 minutes. Thinking everything was fine, the officer asked me if I held another passport other than my British one. Totally forgetting to remind mum I needed my Australian passport, we didn’t bring it and so I didn’t have it on me. I was stressing out because mum and my family had already said their goodbyes and were on their way home. I basically had to turn back and exit passport control so I could make the phone call to mum for her to bring my Australian passport. Mum didn’t think I’d need it because I was heading into the UK so the British passport would have been fine to use. However, I was told I needed the Australian passport so I can return back home. Well that makes sense! I wouldn’t want to be restricted from getting back into my own country!

Anyway, I was stressing out a whole lot when I was back in the main international terminal because mum wasn’t picking up her phone and then we both tried to call each other at the same time and couldn’t get through. I was stamping my feet on the floor and hitting the wall going crazy over the fact I went through all the security procedures only for me to come out again and wonder if mum would make it back in time. I would call every 5 minutes to find out where they were and kept looking at the clock hoping the minutes wouldn’t go any faster and that time would just stop for me in this moment. I called my best friend who kept me calm but at the same time I was still stressing out. And it was weird for me since I’ve changed my attitude over the past couple of months and have been a lot more positive and relaxed. That’s why I wanted to keep calm. Because in the end, everything would have it’s way of working out. For some silly reason I kept thinking I’ll miss my flight and that maybe this happening was a sign I wasn’t meant to go to England. But that was just irrational thinking. These things happen and at least I was getting my passport back to me.

It turns out that things worked out, my family came back about the time my plane was due to board. I said my goodbyes again and thought to myself that seeing my family again was the reason the passport incident happened.

I rushed back through security and immigration and everything turned out fine. I made it to gate 11 and could see there was no sign of anyone boarding which I presumed would be the case because plane flights never board on time. Boarding time for my flight was at 11pm but I didn’t get on the plane until after 11:30.

The flight to Doha which was the stopover didn’t feel long at all, nor did the flight from there to the UK. So I was happy. I saw my cousin at the arrivals terminal and was greeted by a hug from him and my auntie Kate. It’s so nice to see your family when you haven’t seen them for a while.

I didn’t realise how big of a stretch Heathrow Airport is!

It’s now day three since I’ve been in the UK and I’m still adjusting to things. I am homesick but that will pass. The weather is very cold and England looks very different but I’m staying in a nice area. I’ve been into the local town and have got to know the main area and shops to go to. I also know the bus system and used it for the first time today when taking my cousins to school.

I’m looking for work and have been asked to go to a job shop in town tomorrow to be registered which is promising. Hopefully all works out and I am successful in finding work.

In the mean time, I’m trying to get used to things here still and hopefully I will find some new friends and feel more at home.

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

