Ignorance is bliss

If someone tries to annoy me by attacking me and saying bad things about me to try and bring me down, I get so tempted to fire up and write horrible things back to defend myself and make that other person look bad.

Well what I’ve learned is that it’s not always necessary to fight back or try and reason with people because I see that as sinking to their level by bringing them down when they have done the same to you. Not only that, but if they are the ones who are angry and are adamant about their view of you as a person and reasons against you it’s pretty obvious they could care less about what you have to say back if you plan to write an essay of a reply. A lot of people also want the attention and expect you to reply as well, even though they won’t care about what you have to say. That’s why I believe in doing the opposite of what they expect because ignorance is bliss! People will be shocked and pissed off when they realise that you are not giving them the time of day.

By responding, you are also opening the line of communication between you and that person and you are allowing them a reason to respond, and possibly say even worse things back to you. It’s not worth the drama and it’s too much energy to fight back. Sometimes the best thing to say, is to say nothing at all. As long as you don’t let people bring you down and you know you’re right, at least you’re being the bigger person. Make them look like the fools for wasting their time on you!

About kathleenmae

I love to smile. Happiness, laughter and love are the key to living a fulfilling life.I love to keep an open mind and turn any bad situation into a good one because everything happens for a reason :)

2 responses to “Ignorance is bliss

  1. I just watched the movie Gandhi for the fourth or fifth time. I’m always stunned by how crowds of people allowed themselves to be beaten and killed, and somehow resisted the urge to fight back. Your post reminded me of that. It’s something I think that requires a conscious effort, because defending yourself seems to be a natural response. But as you say so well, lashing back often doesn’t produce the results we’d like. Thank you for writing this.

    • I have not watched that film but now that you mention it, I am definitely going to get a copy and watch it. It seems like something that would interest and touch me. Thank you so much for your comment. It really touched me and it means a lot that it has impacted you in some way. You are very welcome for writing this. It’s true that it is a natural response to defend ourselves as you say and I think it really makes us stronger people when we don’t seek revenge and just simply not fight back. I’m so glad you liked this. Thank you for reading this and for your positive feedback.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

